Will you go through a wall for your team? 

Shining Through

This past week was rough as I was dealing with a people issue that came out of nowhere, something I could not have foreseen or planned for. I did exactly what I know best, shared my position, and sought opinions from my team. As we communicated and rather quickly, we were able to make some decisions to move forwards. 

In the last couple of years, I have made a deliberate effort to reach out and ask for feedback, guidance and also implement them into practice. I have walked up to people and asked them to be my mentor, I have shamelessly asked people to answer my questions over and over and I have also been deeply thankful for every response or the lack of it. Some of these responses and guidance have been pivotal moments in my life and remain to be something I keep going back to. Something one of my mentors had said a couple of years ago, kept going on in my mind and became an anchor this past week.

It was during one of the first meetings, she asked “Will your team go through a wall for you?” 

I paused and started running the list of my team in my head, both vertically and horizontally. 

While I was still analyzing, she asked “Will you go through a wall for your team?”. 

And I had my answer, right there.

Leadership is all about taking responsibility and being ready to go through the wall for your team. Having each other’s back, support and trust are essential to building a resilient and winning team. This is not limited to your professional life but applies as much on a personal level too. 

So, this Sunday afternoon… when I ask myself “Will I go through a wall for my team?”, my answer is “Heck yeah.”

What would be your answer?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close